Home » Uncategorized » 2nd to Last MTC P-Day September 18, 2013

2nd to Last MTC P-Day September 18, 2013

September 18, 2013

I have a very enjoyable conversation with Elder O this week. He was a police officer in Serbia, which gives him a very different view on police work than what we are used to in the United States. He was asking about what rights officers in the U.S. have so I began telling him what I knew. “You mean police officers can’t just beat you up here?” was one of his questions. I said “yes” expecting an answer along the lines of how great this country is, but what he said was not quite that. “That is complete crap. If I was in charge I would take away all guns from civilians, and police would be able to do whatever they want. In Serbia I could go up to anyone, demand their documents and arrest them if I needed. Police in the U.S. have absolutely no rights.” This was so funny to me. I tried to explain to him how the people have rights to privacy which he thought was ridiculous. I could not stop laughing. We then went on to talk about how he would beat up people, which he described with a lot of excitement and joy.

This morning while I was ironing my shirts, I said joking to my companion, “All I need is some aluminum foil, cheese, bread and butter and then iron could make some pretty good grilled cheese.” We laughed, but with a little bit of time it began to sound like a pretty good idea. About an hour later we walked to the BYU Creamery and bought all of the materials needed. When there is available time, we will make an attempt at this. Photos will be coming next week.

It’s only thirteen more days until my scheduled arrival in Ukraine. Many missionaries that have left to Ukraine missions have been having visa issues and there in were transferred state side until their visa’s come in. This has been a growing fear of mine and it becomes more and more so each day. The worst is that some of the people did not find out until the day before they were supposed to leave. I doubt it will happen, but you never know.

Life in the MTC just keeps on going. This is my second to last P-day here and I am feeling ready to get into the field.

С любовь

Старейшина Ханкок

Leave a Reply

